Dunedin Thunder Women

NZIHL February 8, 2018  4316
Dunedin Thunder Women at the 2020 NZWIHL finals

The Dunedin Thunder Women’s team was formed in 2020. Prior to 2020, players from the South Island’s Southern region combined to form a single team. In 2020, it was decided to split the Southern team in two, resulting in the Dunedin Thunder Women and Wakatipu Wild joining the NZWIHL.

The establishment of a Dunedin based team allowed local players to train together regularly and join the “Thunder” family.

The team is made up of players ranging from 16 – 48 years old, but the majority of the team are in their early to late teens and early 20s which bodes extremely well for the future. The team also currently features National Senior Women’s and National U18 players in the squad.

The Dunedin Thunder Women squad is selected from the strong contingent of players in Dunedin and also features eligible players from Alexandra, Westport and Wellington.

Staff Directory
General Manager: Simon Heptonstall
Head Coach: Angelique Mawson
Assistant Coach: Barrett Wilson

Arena Info
Dunedin Ice Stadium
101 Victoria Road, St Kilda, Dunedin
(03) 456 4556

History and Accomplishments
2020: Team Founded

Media Links